Fifty-five students from Clark County School District were named National Merit Scholarship finalists, and will compete for scholarships worth more than $31 million.

The group represents less than one percent of students who qualify to continue in the competition, according to a press release. 

The students were the highest-scoring of more than 1.6 million juniors across 22,000 high schools in the nation. 

Semifinalists from Clark High School (CCSD)

Semifinalists from Clark High School (CCSD)

"This is a tremendous honor for our students and their schools," said CCSD Superintendent Jesus F. Jara in the press release. "Congratulations to our students, their families and the educators who support them. I wish you much success as you continue on in the competition to earn scholarships."

These are the students who will advance: 

Advanced Technologies Academy

• Ian S. Mayo

• Gabriel Adrian D. Musngi

• Derek C. Yu

Arbor View High School

• Andrew J. Hunter

• Evan M. Shelton

Centennial High School

• Lainey R. Waldman

College of Southern Nevada

• Jill M. St. Clair

Coronado High School

• Euijin Kang

• Madison L. Kleinrock-Andrews

• Noel T. Tran

• Hannah S. Young

Desert Oasis High School

• Traylen R. Ruch

East Career and Technical Academy

• Vladimir A. Reyes Acevedo

Ed. W. Clark High School

• Pablo A. Alarcon

• Devika Bararia

• Evan Crosby

• Brennan P. Ferrington

• Jennifer J. Glezen

• Ashish Kalakuntla

• Shreya S. Kamojjala

• James B. Kwok

• Dexter Lai

• Olivia S. Lee

• Julius Z. Lenon

• Jessica Li

• Jeffery W. Luo

• Monica Montoya

• Vidhushan Ramakrishnan

• Ryan C. Russell

• Kayla Richelle E. Sangalang

• Ethan A. Seto

• Simran J. Shah

• Aaron Z. Sun

• Vincent B. Tang

• Caitlyn M. Tran

• Katie Y. Wang

• Brandon N. Waters

• Eric J. Yuan

Foothill High School

• Spencer Dunn

• Mateo Monterde

Green Valley High School

• Sruthi Srinivas

• Anthony J. Winchell

Liberty High School

• Celin S. Rawther

Moapa Valley High School

• Grady Call

Northwest Career and Technical Academy

• Ananya S. Dewan

Palo Verde High School

• Richard B. Huang

• Tianrui R. Li

• Charlotte I. Wickert

Rancho High School

• Benjamin B. Ballin

• Ethan S. Krammer

Sierra Vista High School

• Jordan W. Wilke

Spring Valley High School

• Amber Chou

Veterans Tribute Career and Technical Academy

• Kathryn E. Fontano

West Career and Technical Academy

• Tyler D. Kim

• Ashley D. Nies

Copyright 2018 KVVU (KVVU Broadcasting Corporation). All rights reserved

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.