Nevada’s minimum wage to increase July 1
LAS VEGAS, Nev. (FOX5) - The Office of the Labor Commissioner on Monday is reminding Nevada employers that the state’s minimum wage will increase effective July 1.
According to a news release, Assembly Bill 456, passed by the 2019 Nevada Legislature, increases the minimum wage in increments of 75 cents annually through 2024.
Officials note that the state has a two-tier minimum wage system based on qualifying health benefits being offered to employees. For the period covering July 1, 2022, through June 30, 2023, the minimum wage rate is $9.50 per hour if the employee is offered qualifying health benefits, and $10.50 per hour if the employee is not offered qualifying health benefits, according to the release.
Accordingly, an increase in the minimum wage will also increase the daily overtime rates for the same period beginning July 1. This does not apply to those employees exempted from overtime requirements under NRS 608.018.
According to the release, employees in Nevada who earn more than one and one-half times the minimum wage for both tiers - $14.25 per hour for those offered health benefits and $15.75 per hour for those not offered health benefits- are eligible for overtime at one and one-half times their regular rate of pay for over 40 hours of work in a week.
Likewise, employees who earn less than the amounts listed above, in addition to overtime pay after the traditional 40-hour week, Nevada law also provides for overtime pay at one and one-half times an employee’s regular rate of pay for working more than 8 hours in a 24-hour period, officials say.
Copyright 2022 KVVU. All rights reserved.