14 CCSD elementaries designated as ‘Zoom Schools’ - FOX5 Vegas - KVVU

14 CCSD elementaries designated as ‘Zoom Schools’

Posted: Updated:

Fourteen Clark County School District (CCSD) schools with a high number of English Language Learner (ELL) students will benefit from additional resources beginning this upcoming school year.

The schools have been designated Zoom Schools and will receive free pre-kindergarten programs, expanded full-day kindergarten programs with smaller class sizes, free summer school offerings and reading skills development centers.

The Zoom School program is the result of extensive research by state officials into ways to increase the academic performance of ELL students, the school district said.

Lawmakers during the last legislative session worked to ensure $50 million in funding would be provided for the program, including $39.4 million in Clark County.

The 14 schools in the programs are as follows:

  • Arturo Cambeiro Elementary School
  • Manuel J. Cortez Elementary School
  • Lois Craig Elementary School
  • Ollie Detwiler Elementary School
  • Ruben Diaz Elementary School
  • Fay Herron Elementary School
  • Robert Lunt Elementary School
  • Reynaldo Martinez Elementary School
  • Paradise Elementary School
  • Dean Petersen Elementary School
  • Bertha Ronzone Elementary School
  • Myrtle Tate Elementary School
  • Rose Warren Elementary School
  • Tom Williams Elementary School

The program is set to begin on Aug. 26. The schools in the program have the highest percentage of ELL students and are among the district's lowest performing academically.

For more information, visit www.ccsd.net.

Copyright 2013 KVVU (KVVU Broadcasting Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
Fox 5
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2014, KVVU Broadcasting Corporation, Las Vegas, NV and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service..