Gamecock QB Shaw on national watch list - FOX5 Vegas - KVVU

Gamecock QB Shaw on national watch list

Posted: Updated:

FORT WORTH, TX (WIS) – Gamecock senior Connor Shaw ranks among 34 of the nation's best quarterbacks who received a spot on the 2013 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List Wednesday.

Shaw comes into 2013 with a 17-3 record all-time as a starting quarterback, ranking as one of two Gamecocks in history with 3,000 yards passing and 1,000 rushing in a career, joining Jeff Grantz.

Twice a 2013 SEC Offensive Player of the Week, Shaw and the Gamecocks posted an 11-2 record last season, with Shaw setting a school record with a 67.5% completion rate.

The current South Carolina leader in career pass-completion percentage, the Flowery Branch, Ga., native also stands ninth in career pass completions (300) and seventh in career passing touchdowns (32).

This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, features 34 of the nation's best college quarterbacks who were selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2013 college football season.

Shaw is among seven SEC quarterbacks on the list, the most of any league. The award's 16 semifinalists will be announced on Mon., Nov. 4, while the field will be narrowed to three finalists three weeks later. The winner will be revealed on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thurs., Dec. 12.

The 37th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 17, 2014 in Fort Worth, Texas. The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.

2013 Davey O'Brien Watch List

David Ash, Texas

Blake, Bortles, UCF

Tajh Boyd, Clemson

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville

Terrance Broadway, Louisiana-Lafayette

Kolton Browning, ULM

Derek Carr, Fresno State

Rakeem Cato, Marshall

Cody Fajardo, Nevada

David Fales, San Jose State

James Franklin, Missouri

Devin Gardner, Michigan

Kevin Hogan, Stanford

Brett Hundley, UCLA

Chuckie Keeton, Utah State

Taylor Kelly, Arizona State

Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois

Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

Marcus Mariota, Oregon

Taylor Martinez, Nebraska

AJ McCarron, Alabama

Braxton Miller, Ohio State

Stephen Morris, Miami (Fla.)

Aaron Murray, Georgia

Casey Pachall, TCU

Keith Price, Washington

Bryn Renner, North Carolina

Keenan Reynolds, Navy

Tyler Russell, Mississippi State

Connor Shaw, South Carolina

Tyler Tettleton, Ohio

Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech

Bo Wallace, Ole Miss

Keith Wenning, Ball State

Powered by Frankly
Fox 5
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, KVVU Broadcasting Corporation, Las Vegas, NV and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.