CCSD rezones 9 southwest schools - FOX5 Vegas - KVVU

CCSD rezones 9 southwest schools

Posted: Updated:

A unanimous vote by the Clark County Board of School Trustees will have 462 students going to a different campus next year.

"This year, because of how significantly overcrowded some of our schools were, it became a very big issue because we were going to rezone a lot of schools," said Carolyn Edwards, president of the Clark County School Board of Trustees.

Originally as many as 20 schools could have been affected, but the district's Attendance Zone Advisory Commission got it down to just nine Southwest elementary schools: Ries, Wiener, Hill, Batterman, Rogers, Hayes, Bendorf, Kim and Roger Bryan.

The district said overcrowding issues have forced it to consider redistricting every year.

But a lack of public comment on Wednesday night left Edwards to see that as a good sign redistricting is what parents wanted.

"We listened to the public and made a change that was requested and I think that's why we don't see as many people here because we accommodated them," Edwards said.

Rather than redistrict, three schools - Forbuss, Reedom and Wright elementary schools - are going to a year-round schedule.

The district says unless it can raise more money for new schools, those will be the only two options for parents across the district.

"You're going to see more of this discussion every single year," Edwards said.

The district said this redistricting is not expected to cause any problems when students leave elementary school to attend middle school.

The changes take effect next school year.

Copyright 2013 KVVU (KVVU Broadcasting Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow
Fox 5
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2014, KVVU Broadcasting Corporation, Las Vegas, NV and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service..