Members of Sandy Hook Advisory Commission announced - FOX5 Vegas - KVVU

Members of Sandy Hook Advisory Commission announced

Posted: Updated:

The governor has named the 16 members of the Sandy Hook Advisory Commission, which will review school safety, gun control laws and regulations and mental health issues.

"This includes ensuring that our mental health system can reach those that need its help, looking for ways to make sure our gun laws are as tight as they are reasonable, and making certain that our law enforcement has the tools it needs to protect public safety, particularly in our schools," said Gov. Dannel P. Malloy in a statement Tuesday.

The commission will be led by Chairman Scott Jackson, who is the mayor of Hamden and has served on previous state boards.

"I've asked this group to join Chairman Scott Jackson so they can begin the task of taking a broad, systemic approach in crafting the recommendations that will lead to comprehensive legislative and policy changes that must occur following the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary School," Malloy said. 

On Dec. 14, Adam Lanza, 20, shot and killed his mother as she slept in her bed. He then traveled the few miles to Sandy Hook Elementary School, where he proceeded to shoot out a security window, make his way into the building and kill 20 children and six adults. He then shot and killed himself as police made their way into the school.

The Connecticut State Police are still investigating the motive for the shooting.

The members of the commission are:

  • Dr. Adrienne Bentman, director of the Adult Psychiatry Residency Program and Hartford Hospital's Institute of Living
  • Ron Chivinski, a teacher at Newtown Middle School
  • Robert Ducibella, founding principal at DVS Security Consulting and Engineering
  • Terry Edelstein, nonprofit liaison to Gov. Dannel P. Malloy
  • Kathleen Flaherty, staff attorney at Statewide Legal Services of Connecticut, Inc.  
  • Dr. Alice M. Forrester, executive director at Clifford W. Beers Guidance Clinic, Inc.
  • Dr. Ezra Griffith, professor emeritus of psychiatry and senior research scientist in psychiatry
  • Patricia Keavney-Maruca, a member of the Connecticut Board of Education and a former teacher at a technical high school
  • Christopher Lyddy, the outgoing state representative of the 106th Assembly District, which includes Newtown
  • Denis McCarthy, Norwalk fire chief 
  • Barbara O'Connor, University of Connecticut director of public safety and chief of police 
  • Wayne Sandford, professor at the University of New Haven and Henry C. Lee College of Criminal Justice & Forensic Sciences 
  • Dr. David J. Schonfeld, director at the National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement
  • Dr. Harold I. Schwartz, chief psychiatrist at Hartford Hospital's Institute of Living
  • Bernard R. Sullivan, the former Hartford police chief and former commissioner at the Connecticut Department of Public Safety

The commission will release its initial report on March 15.

Copyright 2013 WFSB (Meredith Corporation). All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly
Fox 5
Powered by WorldNow CNN
All content © 2018, KVVU Broadcasting Corporation, Las Vegas, NV and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, and Terms of Service, and Ad Choices.